Avocados and what to do with them

 

Growing up in a Hispanic family, Avocados were part of the shopping trip every week like bananas are to Americans. You just bought them, and used them in one form or another. I can honestly say though, until I was in my thirties I hated them green things.

I remember many times as a kid my mother would try to get me to eat Guacamole, disgusting I always said. As an adult I finally learned the deliciousness of Avocados and now I enjoy them often! Guacamole really is delicious, and its healthy for you too!

Per google information: Avocados are a good source of pantothenic acid, dietary fiber, vitamin K, copper, folate, vitamin B6, potassium, vitamin E, and vitamin C. . Also known as an alligator pear or butter fruit, the versatile avocado is the only fruit that provides a substantial amount of healthy monounsaturated fatty acids (MUFA). Avocados are a naturally nutrient-dense food and contain nearly 20 vitamins and minerals.

I am not fond of the taste of Avocado by themselves, like I know many people eat. I enjoy them mashed up into guacamole. I love to use guacamole instead of mayo, especially on a blt sandwich. The flavors are just perfect together!

My go to guacamole recipe is just:

1 avocado
half of a lime, juice squeezed
pinch of salt & pepper
handful of fresh cilantro

Toss together and mash, or even use a food processor to finely grade together.

Guacamole is good with just chips, or replacing mayo, or even mixed in with soup. There are many ways to eat Avocados also. Here are a few delicious recipes that include the great green fruit. Try them out and let me know what you think!

http://omgchocolatedesserts.com/chicken-avocado-salad-roll-ups/

http://myrecipemagic.com/recipe/recipedetail/tomato-avocado-melt

http://www.cookingclassy.com/avocado-caprese-skillet-chicken/

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

